Santana 20 logo


2003  News



Emerald Cup Regatta 2003

Fleet 19 Thursday Night Racing

Western Regional Championships

Southwestern Regional Championships

Eastern Regional Championships

Camellia Cup

Andrew Kerr's Winter and Early Spring Roundup 2003

Schock Memorial Regatta 2003  

SCYA Midwinter Regatta  Story and Results



Cal Trans with Charlie Ogletree/Mike Pinckney/John Papadopoulos are the 2003 National Champions at Huntington Lake, Head First (Willem and Peter Van Waay, Travis Wilson) in 2nd, Mini-Me (Bruce Golison, Andrew Kerr, Bill Ramacciotti) in 3rd Story





Yachtsmen of the Year


SDAYC Yachtsman of the Year


Chris Winnard, won the San Diego Association of Yacht Clubs' Yachtsman of the Year Award for his outstanding racing performance in 2002. Current Santana 20 Champion and on his fourth national S20 title, Chris also won many races in other classes in 2002 including in the CF-27, J-22, J-24, Melges 24 and other PHRF boats. Chris receives this award in good company. Prior recipients of this award include Dennis Conner, Lowell North and many many other famous names in Sailing. Chris Winnard is the skipper of S20 Disaster Area which he sails with teammate and pro-sailing coach Andrew Kerr.


ASMBYC Yachtsman of the Year


Tucker Strasser of Del Rey Yacht Club (DRYC) won the Association of Santa Monica Bay Yacht Club's top honor, Yachtsman of the Year in 2002, for his years of behind the scenes efforts supporting numerous causes junior sailing, buoy committee, building trophies, race management, PHRF (Performance Handicap Racing Fleet) board, building the Santana 20 fleet and bringing the fleet's national regatta to Marina del Rey. Del Rey Yacht Club was the site of the 2002 Nationals.


ASMBYC Junior Yachstman of the Year

Gregory Helias of Del Rey Yacht Club (DRYC), received the ASMBYC Junior Yachtsman of the Year trophy for 2002. Helias had a remarkable year sailing, winning numerous regattas, and ending the year as the reigning U.S. Laser Radial Champion, and he was one of six sailors chosen to represent the the Laser World Championship on the Laser Radial team. Greg sails S20 Voodoo Chicken and was 5th place at the S20 Nationals.

2002 Year in Review 


The Eastern S20 fleet in focus - An Interview with Edith Collins Story


Junior Series: 


Andrew Kerr Interviews:  Stevie Washburn Story,  Payson Infelise and Jon Bell Story


Launching of Newest S20 - More Pictures




2002 News


Golison/Washburn wins High Sierra Regatta and Western Regionals 


Winnard/Kerr/Corbit takes Lead in Firecracker Regatta - Klamath Falls, OR


Altitude Sickness (Infelise/Bell/Infelise) Tops Twelve Boats at North Sails Week. Results


Golison/Washburn Gets Bullet Again at Cal Race Week 2002 Story and Results


Golison/Washburn Snags Trophy, Dave Ullman 2nd in WD Schock Regatta 2002  Results










Disaster Area's New Genoa Halyard System (left),

Tom Schock, Andrew Kerr,Doug Messer win Champs From Left: Doug Messer, Tom Schock, Andrew Kerr (Right)



Hull #1 and Hull #922 Faced Off in Eastern Regional Championships - Sarasota Florida Story


Camelia Cup/District II Champs won by team Witcher, Hart, and Hess


2002 Southern California Midwinters  News


Newport Beach - Fleet 2 - Race Clinic - Photos



S20's at the Dock at Sarasota Eastern Regional Champtionships


Left - Naboo

Right - Opfor













Scott McKenney - on Bloodhound (Left), Tucker Strasser (Right)


Fleet 1 Seminar with Andrew Kerr

2001 News

Charlie Ogletree wins 2001 National Championships in Klamath Falls

Interview with Charlie Ogletree

Close Racing at Klamath Falls 2001 Championships


2001 Championships - Trophied Winners 1-Ogletree, 2-Winnard, 3-Witcher, 4-Golison. 5-Cardwell, 6-Poe, 7 Dornberg, 8-Purdy, 9-Sherlock,10-Stephens  See Complete Results and Photos


Leeward Crowd - 2000 Nationals, Photo by Mary Longpre




Klamath Firecracker Regatta 2001 -- Fleets Get  a Practice Run at  Nationals Venue



Top - Race Participants at Klamath Falls, Bottom - Disaster Area Team, Race Winner


North Sails Week 2001 - Chris Winnard (Altitude Sickness) Clinches Bullet


Cal Race Week - Bruce Golison Wins District 1 Championships 


27 Boats Compete in 2001 WD Shock Regatta - Newport Beach


Sarasota One Design Regatta



(Left) Racing Seminar in Sarasota, 

(Right) Tom Schock and Andrew Kerr in Sarasota





S20 Group at Turkey Day Regatta in Long Beach



Hull #920 Debuts at 2000 Nationals. Newest boat from WD Schock, owned by Britt Williams,  heads to Tulsa, Oklahoma. 


41 Santana 20's Raced at W.D. Schock Regatta in Newport Beach Race Results


Camillia Cup - Inside at the Mark - Reprinted with Permission - Chris Crewell/Sacramento Bee



Santana 20 one of largest One Design Fleets  in prestigious North Sails Golison & Golison Event in Long Beach. Photos. Race Results.



Eugene YC Memorial Day Regatta Fields 29 Competitors Results


New Class Perpetual Trophy

John Franklin is Awarded the  Kerr Trophy in 2000 for his many years of dedicated service to the Santana 20 Class.



New Style Santana 20


 More Pictures.   WD Schock Web Page.